In 2019, the civic leaders of Derry and Strabane, Cork, Dublin, Belfast and Limerick formally signed an agreement to commit each city to work together and provide mutual support to help deliver on the vision of a Learning City for all citizens. The Memorandum of Understanding between the  cities  “a shared dedication to strengthening friendly relations and enhancing cooperation between the peoples of the cities and city-regions… to carry out Learning City exchanges focused on the principles of the UNESCO Global Network of Learning Cities.”